PDA

View Full Version : Stick with 8.5 or Upgrade to 9.x?

jhogarty
12-03-2006, 06:12 PM
Hi,

I'm just a hobbyist but am getting back into using Lightwave. I currently am using 8.5 on a Dual G5. I also have a MacBook Pro and understand the UB version is not ready yet.

Is it worth upgrading to version 9? I'm looking for stability. Since switching from the PC world to my Mac I've been experiencing more frequent crashes when trying to render.

Thanks,

John...

harlan
12-03-2006, 07:22 PM
The Mac is a rock solid system, but Lightwave has never been altogether that stable when running on the Mac. NewTek have really put in an effort towards making Lightwave stable on the Mac, and v9 is by far the most stable version of Lightwave to date.

I would recommend upgrading to 9 as you've already made the investment in purchasing Lightwave; you might as well keep it up to date, unless of course you plan on ditching LW or something. Upgrading to LW9 will give you a free update to the Universal Binary when it's finally ready, which should be considerably more stable than 8.5 (fingers crossed) and you'll be able to run it natively on your MacBook Pro as well as your G5.

If you do go with the upgrade to 9 (which I highly recommend doing) and you want to run it on your MacBook Pro, I'd suggest running it via Bootcamp & WinXP until the UB version is complete, as LW under rosetta is quite finicky and crash prone. You'll be able to run LW9 on your G5 right out of the box, however, and you'll be able to take advantage of the added stability v9 offers over v8.5

Don't get me wrong, LW on the Mac is nowhere near as stable as it is on the PC, but NewTek is working hard to make it rock solid, and 9 is much better than previous versions. Hopefully the XCode, Universal Binary, version of Lightwave will be available soon.

Hope that helps...

jhogarty
12-03-2006, 07:54 PM
Thanks for the input Harlan. I'll give them a call tomorrow and order my upgrade.

J.

harlan
12-03-2006, 08:14 PM