PDA

View Full Version : Newtek is 20? Good for Youtek Newtek!

DonJMyers
11-30-2006, 10:13 AM
Wow 1988? Hmm,

20 years X moore's law = 250 years in computer time!

About the only other computer companies still around this long are Apple and Microsoft! We miss you Deluxepaint and AmigaDOS!

20 years ago I was playing Commodore 64 games in my dad's basement in Cincinnati, Ohio. Now I'm a Disney animator living in West Hollywood and I OWE IT ALL to Newtek and Deluxepaint!

Check out LW's history here: http://www.lightwiki.com/wiki/mediawiki-1.4.4/index.php?title=LightWave_History

Congrats to Youtek Newtek!

Safe Harbor
11-30-2006, 12:32 PM
1988 gives them 18 years - where did you come up with 20?

Safe Harbor opened in 1988 as well. :)

shrox
11-30-2006, 12:43 PM
Deluxe Paint was by Electronic Arts! Now known the evil EA...

My first use of LW was on a DECAlpha at Amblin Studios.

KSTAR
11-30-2006, 12:51 PM
1988 gives them 18 years - where did you come up with 20?

Safe Harbor opened in 1988 as well. :)

Yeah I used to buy all of my Amiga products from you guys. I bought my GVP 33mhz 020 board with 16megs of ram for my Amiga 2000 from SH back in the day on sale I think for around $2K!! You youngsters have know idea how well you have it these days ;)

Fortunately I had just sold my Atari 1040ST Cad3d, Cybersculpt, Cyber paint, Cyber VCR, and Spectrum 512 so I had some extra cash to start with :)

Man now I feel old

KSTAR
11-30-2006, 12:58 PM
Oh yeah congrats Newtek, couldn't have done it all these years with out you!

My first product was DigiView, and the first Toaster

I did use modeler and videoscape 3D before you guys took over. Aegis were art thou?

robewil
11-30-2006, 01:45 PM
Newtek's Digiview did come out in 1986. So it is 20 years.

Titus
11-30-2006, 01:47 PM
Wow 1988? Hmm,
About the only other computer companies still around this long are Apple and Microsoft! We miss you Deluxepaint and AmigaDOS!

I bet there are others, like IBM, Evans & Sutherland, etc.