PDA

View Full Version : 98 to XP, LW Troubles.



RorrKonn
02-18-2003, 10:37 PM
I upgraded from windows 98 to windows XP Home edition.
Now I can't get LW 7.5 to work.

when I try to activate Layout I get "Error Can't initialize LightWave"

when I try to activate Modeler I get "Startup Failure 212: Hardware key not found.

How did you all get LW from 98 to XP ?

Thanks
Ravenn
http://www.Atomic-3D.com

Capt Lightwave
02-19-2003, 02:37 AM
Probably a stupid question, but did you remember to install the sentinel driver(s)?

Wukwuk
02-20-2003, 04:30 PM
Pardon my complete ignorance on this, but according to the specs for Lightwave, it doesn't run on XP. I thought Win2000 was as far as you could go on a pc. Someone clarify this for me, as I'm about to buy a new workstation, and want to buy XP, but I'll get 2000 if LW really doesn't work properly on XP.

Steve

Skonk
02-20-2003, 05:04 PM
I think some ppl have had problems but i think it works fine for most ppl, and ppl who do have probs usually get it sorted. It should work fine on XP.

James..

cagey5
02-20-2003, 06:54 PM
I upgraded from Win 98 to XP without a hitch and as far as I'm aware Newtek are more than happy to claim XP compatability. I know it doesn't help with your problem but it would appear that it's not a direct compatibility issue.

Skonk
02-20-2003, 07:18 PM
Iv seen plenty of ppl reporting problems installing there dongle on winxp but its always been sorted soon enough, im not really sure why cos most ppl dont have any trouble. Im on winxp myself (pro) and iv never had a problem.

James..

Aegis
02-20-2003, 07:37 PM
The Sentinel System drivers on the LightWave CD don't support XP - download the latest drivers from the Rainbow Technologies website.

I seem to recall that LightWave was officially XP compatible with 7.5

RorrKonn
02-21-2003, 12:15 AM
Thanks for all the help.

We now have LW 7.5 running on XP.

Anyone what the RAM limit is for XP ?

As far as I can tell older Sentinel Drivers where loaded.

Thanks Again
Ravenn
http://www.Atomic-3D.com

Aegis
02-21-2003, 03:17 AM
WinXP supports up to 2 gigs of RAM.

RorrKonn
02-21-2003, 03:35 AM
2 Gig's form 256 RAM Gezz.
I got me a super charged Render Engine now :)

Ravenn
http://www.Atomic-3D.com