PDA

View Full Version : Old school rendering vs. Fprime

prayforjoejoe
11-14-2006, 10:38 AM
Hello everyone. I am Joseph and I have been using Lightwave for about 2 years now. Im finishing up my associate in computer graphics: animation at Lansing Community College this semester. I have recently been looking at the amazing work by those of us that own Fprime and wondering, is there any way to achieve such a look for interiors without using Fprime and waiting 36 hours?! (dont ask, waited 36 hours and the render didnt look like I wanted it to). I am not running on an amazing computer (Dell 5100 with some new ram in it), and I was recently thinking of buying Fprime. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Intuition
11-14-2006, 10:52 AM
Don't even question buying F-Prime. It will speed up your workflow and save you time and give you quality. Honestly. I used Lightwave for 9 years before it came out and after two days of use I found it indispensable.

Even when I still use the LW native engine for renders I still setup with F-Prime. Most often I use it for animation too.

If you decide to stay with Lightwave I wouldn't question getting f-prime.

The only draw back is it wont see nodes or shaders so you have to rely on strictly surface panel/advanced settings. Also, it wont use LW9 new cameras. Yet, as you have seen, alot can be done with f-prime and its also compaitble with G2.

After about an hour of playing with it you will not regret having it. I would only recommend having at least a 2.8 ghz and 2GB ram system since F-Prime likes cpu and memory for high poly count scenes. It will run with less but really likes high end systems.

Currently it resides in my quad core/dual opteron system burning out the quality. :D

You can achieve the look without f-prime but you'll wait. Think of it like this. YOu can set up and scene and wait hours for a frame or you can see it instantly, make changes and see them in realtime, repeat....repeat...repeat...till happy.

Andyjaggy