PDA

View Full Version : Camera Surface Baker .. merging uvs and adding black spots?

qwerty
11-09-2006, 04:09 PM
Hey!

I am trying to bake lighting on a human figure, it uses 3 uvs - face, upper body, and lower body. When I render using Camera Surface Baker it merges all the uvs and adds black spots eveywhere. Picture in point: http://img460.imageshack.us/img460/5276/lwblackspotsri4.jpg

Attatched are is my scene and object file in zip format. Hope someone can find the problem, I'm fairly new to all this ^_^

greatly appreciated

Exception
11-09-2006, 04:27 PM
Ok, I see what's wrong...

You're using an .obj file, which is asking for trouble. Always open external file formats in modeler first, check wether they're decent, and then save out as .lwo before doing things with them such as rendering.
In this case, Lw is actually rendering correctly, but the imported UV map is a mess. There are several sets of UV coordinates laying on top of one another.

Either find a way to convert this object from wherever it came with the Uv maps intact, or recreate the UV maps in modeler. I'd suggest, since this is a character, downloading the free PLG uv pelt mapping tools for this, as they're going to give you the best results.

You can also copy and paste the overlapping UV's out into a new uv map.

Oh yes, in modeler, you can also convert the object to a subpatch object. It needs to be subpatched, its all chunky now.

The object might get better if you merge its points too, but do that last.

Exception
11-09-2006, 04:44 PM
This object was converted from OBJ to LWO using Accutrans3D... This preserves the UV maps.
I also made it a MetaNurb surface in modeler.

You'll find that this will work a lot better!

qwerty
11-09-2006, 04:52 PM
This object was converted from OBJ to LWO using Accutrans3D... This preserves the UV maps.
I also made it a MetaNurb surface in modeler.

You'll find that this will work a lot better!