PDA

View Full Version : forum search broken?



jeremyhardin
11-07-2006, 09:27 AM
i'm getting this error whenever I try to search here:

Safari can’t open the page “http://www.newtek.com/forums/search.php”.
The error was: “lost network connection” (NSURLErrorDomain:-1005)
Please choose Report Bug to Apple from the Safari menu, note the error
number, and describe what you did before you saw this message.

Kurtis
11-07-2006, 02:36 PM
It's working for me in Firefox. The forums have been slammed the last two days, so you may have just hit it during a peak point.

Martin Adams
11-07-2006, 02:51 PM
Try searching for the word "render" and you'll definitely break it.

EmperorPete
11-08-2006, 03:03 AM
The only time I've ever had a problem with the search here is when searching for "radiosity problem"; for some reason, the search always craps out on me on that one. Every other time is fine, though.

jeremyhardin
11-08-2006, 04:09 AM
well, it seems to fail specifically when I use this search box...
38620

and search for:
image AND editor

also tested on PC running Firefox 1.5.0.7

Martin Adams
11-08-2006, 04:17 AM
Yep, confirmed here:

Search for 'image' - works
Search for 'editor' - works
Search for 'image editor' - breaks

It must be some overhead on popular words and possibly how vBulletin performs the search.

jeremyhardin
04-14-2008, 04:02 AM
Just thought I'd revive this thread, as the forums still break when searching for 'render'.

Steamthrower
04-14-2008, 09:39 AM
It breaks somewhat randomly for me.

Once it broke when I searched for "Pixelmator". That's not a common word, at all...it prompts me to download a .php file.

art
04-14-2008, 09:52 AM
I noticed this too. I do not remember exact word combinations, but some of them do not work. Is seems random.

kilvano
04-18-2008, 12:50 AM
Whole forum is fracked. 7 replies but only 2 views? WTF

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2060/2422874826_026b0eece5_o.png

art
04-18-2008, 09:51 AM
maybe they replied with their eyes closed ;)

LFGabel
05-30-2008, 08:35 PM
It's hosed for me too. Still. I noticed this months and months ago. I just searched for:

search forum problem - and I got a blank page.
render without dongle - blank page.

and sometimes it prompts me to save a php file.