PDA

View Full Version : After the Beaty Pass

hdace
11-07-2006, 02:20 AM
I need advice or pointing to a tutorial on what to do after the "beauty pass". I've been working for several years in LW, and I often do a render job split into background and character separate and put back in post (After Effects).

But I'm finding that increasingly is not adequate. And I've read that other people split things up a lot more, but I find LW's rednering controls quite confusing with regard to alpha, and camera not seeing objects, etc.

I want to do beauty, character, shadows, highlights and specular, and reflections separately. Is this possible? Not only can you adjust these effects more easily in post if they're still separate, but you can use very different degrees of anti-aliasing in each respective pass.

What happens when a character walks behind an object that's "camera off"? It looks like the object appears and disappears. Is it hard to place them in the right order in AE's timeline?

Thanks anyone helping out. Hal

jeremyhardin
11-07-2006, 03:29 AM
You can indeed split it up as much as you want. You can use any combination of the following LW native tools:

1. Render Buffer Export
2. PSD export
3. RLA export
4. RPF export
5. Splitting up different scenes by hand (such as an ambient occlusion pass).

Some 3rd party tools for this type of thing
1. exrTrader (http://exrtrader.com/) (commercial, very good, all your buffers, and hdr output. i use this one.)
2. asa_buffer_saver (http://lw-fin.org/plugins/asa/bs/plug_bs.html) (free, I think)

There's a pdf tutorial or two floating around somewhere about multi-pass rendering, quite useful.

here's an old example of mine (pardon the wrong refraction on the glass...it was an experiment).
render:
http://jeremy.lwidof.net/cgtalk/jeremyhardin_bottlecollecti.jpg
passes:
http://jeremy.lwidof.net/cgtalk/bottlecollection_passes.jpg

jeremyhardin
11-07-2006, 03:35 AM