PDA

View Full Version : One frame render



MrBuns
11-06-2006, 10:41 AM
I'm sure this have been asked before, but can screamer.net render a single frame over a network, or is it limited to animations? I do a lot of still images, and it would be very helpful. Thanks,

Danny

StereoMike
11-06-2006, 11:33 AM
search the forum for "harpoon".
oh, I did it already for you:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43752&highlight=harpoon

It's a screamernet manager that can split up single frames. But in the free version only 2 clients (with unlimited cpus) are supported. Works nice on my quadcore tho.

Mike

Captain Obvious
11-06-2006, 12:11 PM
Another way, that will ensure better spread of the load, and doesn't require any additional software, is to animate the camera to create a small shift in its heading and pitch (not bake, though), and then render it as a normal animation over Screamernet, and then blend the frames together into a single one. That's essentially how Lightwave's anti-aliasing works. I'm not entirely sure how many degrees you should rotate the camera, though, and I'm also unsure about how exactly one should blend them together for optimal quality.

But in theory, this works. I have tried it on a single computer with fairly good results.

MrBuns
11-06-2006, 03:42 PM
thanks for your help!