PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave vs Maya vs 3DMax

Latman
06-12-2003, 03:51 PM
Hi Guys!

I'm a newbie and and oldie a the same time; currently I've changed professions from a software engineering background and am currently an enthusiastic beginner to the world of 3D- (read this as I don't need beginners software; I want the stuff the pros use straight up, I just might not work it as well as them yet :) )

Please excuse me this is a redundant question; I'm honestly curious to know (and yes I realise this is a Lightwave BB) when choosing one of the 3 industry leader products, which would you choose and why?

Do you guys tend to find that... [as with most software in different industries, the playing field for us poor users changes constantly- good thing software vendors realise we're driven by our passions rather than our pockets :0 ] ... you review the other products and consider a change to one of those or do you remain loyal?

Many thanks guys,
By the quality of the information I've seen one the forums, I know that there are a lot of clever people in here!

Many thanks
Steve in Australia

TerryFord
06-12-2003, 04:17 PM
Good source of info in this thread over at CGtalk;

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19315

Regards,
Terry

Heimhenge
06-12-2003, 04:27 PM
My choice of LW was based on bang for the buck, which I descerned by reading various forums. Now that I've put 100 hours into LW I can't imagine changing unless I had to. I mean, this is not like learning a word processor ... too much time is invested in learning something like this to jump ship without good reason.

Of course, some will say once you've learned any 3D app the transition to another is easier. That may be true, but why buy into another learning curve unless you have to?

So there's a practical viewpoint to your question anyway.

Bionic Antboy
06-12-2003, 06:03 PM
Linking from the thread TerryFord posted is this one...

http://www.zaon.org/showthread.php?threadid=299