PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a print resolution preset



MysteryMonkey
11-01-2006, 12:13 PM
I'm trying to setup a ResolutionPreset in order to make a high resolution rendering for printing. I'm using a Intel MacBook Pro using Version 9 of LightWave. I found the LightWave Layout 9 Prefs file (made a backup copy of it) and went into it with Text Edit and edited it to include what I thought were proper line statements. I typed them in above the VGA line. They are:

ResolutionPreset 2480 3508 1 0 0 2480 3508 A4 page (300 dpi)
ResolutionPreset 3200 2000 1 0 0 3200 2000 TBL page (200 dpi)

I saved it restarted the computer and then opened up Layout. Much to my dismay they are not visible when I go to set my resolution. If I open up the pref file what I put in is still there so I am stumped what is wrong? Any idea what I did wrong? Am I on the right track?

TIA

MysteryMonkey
11-01-2006, 05:08 PM
So OK, I kept tinkering with things and figured it out. Or at least it appears its going to work. Only several hours of rendering will tell the tale. To fix my problem I deleted 2 PAL ResolutionPresets and replaced them with my "special" ones. FYI, for those wondering what my ResolutionPreset are meant to do.

This one - ResolutionPreset 2480 3508 1 0 0 2480 3508 A4 page (300 dpi) - should render a 300 dpi file for an A4 page.

This is - ResolutionPreset 3200 2000 1 0 0 3200 2000 TBL page (200 dpi) - will render a 200 dpi file for a 10" x 16" print. That will more or less fill a Tabloid page (11" x 17"). I'm trying this one now and on my current MacBook Pro, Models and Scene this one is going to take about 10 hours to render out :(