PDA

View Full Version : Which is Better

eagleeyed
10-28-2006, 05:07 AM
Hello everyone out there, I am a newbie animator, been living of Maya Learning editions and free trials at the moment.

I am about to attempt my first series and I am wondering peoples opinions on what is better to use for the following:

The world will be mostly metal, light reflections, etc.
Several High Detail houses in one shot.
Fire, Explosion, Smoke effects.
Water.
Up to 40 Characters in one shot with high amount of geometry.

I am wondering what program would be best out of the three, which would be more stable out of the three,

3ds max
Maya
Lightwave.

Your opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Sensei
10-28-2006, 05:21 AM
You're risking flame war, which moderators don't tolerate.. People are used to use alternative names of 3rd party 3d applications instead of saying "Maya" etc. ;) Especially on CGTalk..

eagleeyed
10-28-2006, 05:27 AM
Sorry, if I am breaking the rules how is it possible to remove my post.

tonybliss
10-28-2006, 05:41 AM
xsi or better 9.x :) :)

but seriously :( , if you want to have a heavy scene with props and 40 characters, then LW in its current incarnation would not be able to handle that efficiently or at all, due to non real time ik and developing OpenGl. If you wish to USE LW then you WOULD have to render in passes (or sections of your scene) and composite them in a post FX program such as After FX or combustion.
I have been looking at Messiah as a feasible alternative to animating heavy scenes/characters instead of LW ... no probs so far with duplicates characters in the demo ... i thinks me go buy!!!!

Good luck!!!

eagleeyed
10-28-2006, 05:43 AM
thanks for your reply, do you have any links I could check out?

bryphi7
10-28-2006, 05:47 AM
I'm with swami... If you are going to have 40 characters, LW is not for you. You could do it in post, but LW makes that an extremely time consuming and difficult process as well. Good luck...

eagleeyed