PDA

View Full Version : Housed modeling done

hrgiger
10-27-2006, 11:59 PM
Here is the first of several houses I am working on modeling. There are no textures, just base colors as this is only intended to be a modeling excercise. The shingles are modeled geometry. Any helpful advice would be appreciated for the next one I do. I'm fairly new to any kind of architectural modeling. Here are the front and back views respectively rendered in Fprime.

ludenwulf
10-28-2006, 12:53 AM
Looks like you have nice start there with the first model. The only advice I'd suggest is to think about your lighting sceme. The shadows from the key or sun light is casting some some pretty hard shadows. What light type are you useing? You might try an area light as your key and maybe a sky light as either another light type or global lighting if your useing radiosity. The global will help fill in the deeper nooks and cranies without bumping up your radiosity. Just don't crank it up to much or you'll wash out what you already have. Looking good :)

hrgiger
10-28-2006, 02:12 AM
Thanks Luden, I'm not spending too much time with the lighting right now, this is primarily a modeling excercise.

bryphi7
10-28-2006, 02:33 AM
Modeling looks good, but the shingles are to big... at least compared to most that i have installed on houses. I was a builder for 9 years.:(

hrgiger
10-28-2006, 07:27 AM
I was thinking they looked kind of big. Thanks bryphi7, I guess I'll have to go back and adjust them. Which is too bad because they're kind of a pain to redo.
Why the sad face about being a builder? That's a respectable profession.

bryphi7
10-28-2006, 07:42 AM
Not when you worked for the company that I worked for...I probably wouldn't have minded it so much if I was doing it for myself. I wasn't real fond of the 6:00am start time either.

hrgiger
10-28-2006, 09:53 AM