PDA

View Full Version : Ambient Occlusion pass



Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 05:38 PM
Hey all,
Well after having alittle hick up with my model, acciedentally saving over the **** file (:foreheads :bangwall: ;D ) I'm back where I was a month ago. Anyways I'm trying to make some nice UV skins for my model and am using a web tutorial to get the advice I need. Well my problem today is that the website wants me to create an Ambient Occlusion pass 8/ to go with my UV template...How do I create an Ambient Occlusion map in LW, I've googled the subject but hear nothing but what it is and how to do it in 3Dmax but no lightwave help. Any suggestions are appreciated.

bryphi7
10-25-2006, 05:47 PM
What version of lw are you using?

Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 05:49 PM
Lw 9

bryphi7
10-25-2006, 06:02 PM
What you want to do is use the occlusion node and the bake camera...
1. set up uvs in modeler... send to layout
2. add render buffer view in the image processing tab, check color channel
3. plug the ao node into the color channel with desired settings
4. set up bake camera
5. render
6. save out map

If you need more info repost...

bryphi7
10-25-2006, 06:07 PM
also, the bake cam allows you to bake from a high res mesh to a low res mesh.
So if you wanted to you could bake normals and AO from a high res mesh to a lower res version.

Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 06:14 PM
ok I'll have a play with it and see what I can come up with, thanks I'll report back soon.

Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 09:00 PM
OK I got a small question and I appologise in advanced for not knowing this, what is a bake cam and how do I access that tool???

bryphi7
10-25-2006, 09:05 PM
camera properties

Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 09:09 PM
cool ty I go try that

Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 09:12 PM
Ok I just tried that and it just rendered a black image everythign was pitch black...did I miss something????

bryphi7
10-25-2006, 09:19 PM
in the bake cam options make sure you select the uv map and the object that you are trying to bake, also set pixel expand to 3 to help with seams in the uvs, and set your output res to the size map that you want.

You may also need to turn on raytrace shadows to get the ao to work...

Bladewing51
10-25-2006, 09:22 PM
ok that makes sense, its late so I'm gonna head to bed but I'll try that tomorrow, night all.

starbase1
10-26-2006, 05:43 AM
Bladewing, you model may well be intact - The Hub saves copies of any model files you pass between modeller and layout, (from memory, with numbers added to the file name), so if you search your PC for *.LWO files in the date range, you may get lucky and find a copy.

Nick

Asolik
10-27-2006, 11:01 AM
Hey bryphi7, or anyone else that knows, how do you bake normals from a high res to a low res?

bryphi7
10-27-2006, 11:04 AM
must be your lucky day... look at my last post in the church thread...

bryphi7
11-03-2006, 02:35 AM
Here is a video tutorial for LW9
Link (http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15069)