PDA

View Full Version : How can I animate a truck with multiple trailers



rakker16mm
10-11-2006, 05:10 PM
Well.... I'm stumped:question:

I need to animate a land train. There may be as many as six or seven trailers being pulled by one tractor. Here are some examples you may have seen at one time or another.

http://www.apartywithus.com/products_train.html
http://cll.bizjournals.com/story_image/32742-400-0.jpg?rev=2

Where ever the tractor goes the trailers follow each one following the same path as the tractor.

Is there a way to clone the path of the first object and apply it to other objects in turn?

richdj
10-11-2006, 05:32 PM
There is a train follow link on either here or Spinquad, also look at protons video that animates along a set of bones... I'll try and find the links for both.. Unfortunately, I need sleep....

Rich

Phil
10-11-2006, 11:24 PM
If you are running LW 9, take a look at the Relativity scene professors. SnakeMaker might give you an idea or two.

rakker16mm
10-12-2006, 12:04 AM
If you are running LW 9, take a look at the Relativity scene professors. SnakeMaker might give you an idea or two.

Nope... still running LW 8.5:D

I found a tutorial where you use draw spline tool in modeler then create objects which are constrained to the curve in layout.

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/animation/object-path/index.html

It's a bit fiddley but workable. I anticipate things will get progressively more complicated when I replace the proxies with the actual models, because there is a ribbon running through the middle of all the cars. :eek:

SplineGod
10-12-2006, 03:45 PM
I did this using no expressions or motion modifiers. It uses a combination of
displacements and dynamics. I cover it in my displacements and endomorphs CD
http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/examples/roller_coaster.mov

Tank
10-12-2006, 03:59 PM
I think this works in [8]. Don't have it installed right now.

Set up the motion path for your tractor. Clone the tractor and in Graph Editor select all the channels for the clone and use Keys->Roll Keys Right/Left. Then use Replace with Object to replace your cloned tractor with your first trailer. Once you've done that, you can repeat the procedure as many times as necessary.

It's very low tech, and you have to be a little careful about your key placement, but I've used it in similar situations that I needed to complete quickly.

richdj
10-12-2006, 04:06 PM
I did this using no expressions or motion modifiers. It uses a combination of
displacements and dynamics. I cover it in my displacements and endomorphs CD
http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/examples/roller_coaster.mov

I must watch the movies again... care to share your scene...

Rich

rakker16mm
10-12-2006, 06:26 PM
I did this using no expressions or motion modifiers. It uses a combination of
displacements and dynamics. I cover it in my displacements and endomorphs CD
http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/examples/roller_coaster.mov

That looks promising. :D What version of LW were you using at the time?

rakker16mm
10-12-2006, 06:32 PM
I think this works in [8]. Don't have it installed right now.

Set up the motion path for your tractor. Clone the tractor and in Graph Editor select all the channels for the clone and use Keys->Roll Keys Right/Left. Then use Replace with Object to replace your cloned tractor with your first trailer. Once you've done that, you can repeat the procedure as many times as necessary.

It's very low tech, and you have to be a little careful about your key placement, but I've used it in similar situations that I needed to complete quickly.

This also looks like it would work. :thumbsup: In fact in the scene I need to render, all the cars are tractors. The problem is they are all connected by a vertical ribbon of material, and I'm not sure how I'm going to handle that yet. :stumped:

SplineGod
10-12-2006, 06:34 PM
That looks promising. :D What version of LW were you using at the time?

Itll work in any version of LW from 7.5 on up. :)