PDA

View Full Version : import from rhino

celmar
10-11-2006, 04:08 PM
Hello! does anybody has the experience of importing .obj from rhino? I have a lot of problems, no access to the surface editor and the smoothing option, and in layout no shaded solid viewport, just wireframe...
maybe it's a matter of normals, or something I don't really understand... any help? Thank you!!!!

lesterfoster
10-11-2006, 07:23 PM
Hi. I have some experience of importing and exporting different formats from other cad like programs into and out of LW. Can you give more detail on what you are trying to do? I have found that not all methods of drawings work with importing and exporting between LW and other programs. If it is a nurbs object, you may have some problems.

Have you tried exporting from Rhino as a *.lwo format, then opening it up in modeler??

You can also try exporting from Rhino as a *.stl format. Then use the STL importing script that you can fined here.
http://www.chromecow.com/downloads.htm

Scroll down a bit for Sean's stl exporter

Ztreem
10-12-2006, 01:10 AM
When you import an object from a CAD program you usually don't have a surface attached to your object, so that's why tou can't access the surface editor. Load it in modeler an press 'q' and click ok, now you have a surface on your object. If you have different surfaces you have to select the poly's connected to that surface and give them different surface names. I hope this helps.

ColinSmith
10-12-2006, 07:34 AM
My workflow for Rhino to LW is more or less,

~ Select the parts of an object which will all be the same LW surface in Rhino

~ Export those from rhino as 3ds, fiddling with the mesh options to get the kind of poly numbers I want.

~ Open the 3ds in LW, select all polys and assign them to a surface.

~ Maybe reduce polys to get back to something nearer quads, might not work so well depending.

~ Repeat for all the different parts/surfaces. Cutting and pasting them into the same base LW object.