PDA

View Full Version : The tab key

jream
10-07-2006, 05:31 PM
Is the tab key equivilent to MeshSmooth in 3dsmax?

I dont understand this though.

I make a separate object and hit tab and it smooths both objects.
Is there a way to do it to only one?
Or is this just a preview mode?

I dont understand the point of the Tab key if its just a preview and
doesnt actually make your shape that way.

Warwind
10-07-2006, 06:02 PM
If you want to subdivide only one object, either select the object you want subdivided before you press TAB, or put it in a separate layer.

TAB key subdivides your object; it's not just smoothing it, and it's not just a preview. At the default level of 3 (under general options; press "o") each polygon will be subdivided into 3 parts on each axis. So each face of a 6-sided cube would be subdivided into 9 polys.

I don't know 3dsmax, so I can't say anything about Meshsmooth. Hope this helps!

(And since I'm a newbie too, I hope it's correct! :) )

loki74
10-07-2006, 11:17 PM
Tab will perform your choice of SubPatch or CatmullClark subdivision algorithm on the selected polygons (or all polys in all active layers, if nothing is selected). As Warwind states, the level of subdivision can be adjusted.

Any polys that are already subdivided will be converted back to the original polygon. So you can think of the thing as a toggle.

Some things about each algorithm--
SubPatches is LW's native algorithm, if I understand correctly, one of the first SDS algorithms. It is pretty fast, and resolves the mesh well. Its primary limitation is that it cannot subdivide polys with greater than 4 sides.