PDA

View Full Version : Truebones



Atlantis_C
10-05-2006, 07:42 PM
This http://www.truebones.com/ has bvh and I noticed that Lightwave 9 has some sort of "import mo-cap bvh setup". Has anyone tried this with Lightwave?

If you can import bone motions into Lightwave, then how would you get your mesh onto the bones?

mrbones
10-06-2006, 10:54 AM
Hi Atlantis,

I too am interested to see if Lightwave folks can import the motion into their program.

Let me know if you or anyone else would like to try a sample motion.

Thanks again and Cheers

Joe

Atlantis_C
10-07-2006, 11:17 AM
Could you please send a motion to atlantis_curry at yahoo.com. I'll try it out and see if it works.

SplineGod
10-07-2006, 06:20 PM
You can import BVH files into LW. The problem is getting it to work easily with your own rigs because it creates its own skeleton.

mrbones
10-07-2006, 09:49 PM
I should be able to provide targeted rig nodes.

send me the names of the nodes in your rigg.

Then if the names match hopefully you can copy and paste the animation from the bvh to your character. Without re-rigging.

Cheers

Atlantis_C
10-10-2006, 06:40 PM
I am new to Lightwave and know about the nodes for texturing, but am unsure of what rig nodes are. Can someone clarify this so I can give Mr. Bones some info.

From what I know of animation, we make bones but do not need to assign them to the mesh as they automatically assign.

I'm not very good at human character animation so whated to purchase Mr. Bones animations.

SplineGod
10-10-2006, 07:03 PM
You can load a rigged character into Layout then import the BVH file. When you import the BVH file it creates its own rig for the data. You could copy and paste the motions from the BVH rig onto the character rig but there will be problems if the base rotations are not the same.

When he mentions rig nodes I believe hes referring to the pivot point of each bone.

UnCommonGrafx
10-10-2006, 08:19 PM
Hey Mr.Bones,
Would you mind downloading the Maestro demo and see if you can work with that rig? If you can, I'm sure that it would make your tools that much more valuable around here.
http://www.stillwaterpictures.com/maestro/

Maxx
10-10-2006, 08:41 PM
Stabbing in the dark having seen none of what you guys are talking about, but if bvh creates its own rig, could you not simply import the bvh-created rig into LW then select your object, go to Bones mode, and choose Use Bones From... the bvh-created rig?

SplineGod
10-10-2006, 08:52 PM
The BVH rig is different then your rig and contains motion data. You have to make sure that the base pose of the BVH rig is the same as the base pose of your character.
The proportions of the BVH rig will also probably be different from your rig. This is why people end up using 3rd party apps like Motion Builder to easy deal wth mocap data.

mrbones
12-09-2006, 02:37 PM
Check em out at http://www.truebones.com/icy

Over 200 motions on sale for only $20.00

Would be nice if they worked in Lightwave.:agree:

Cheers

SplineGod
12-09-2006, 07:05 PM
Theyll work in LW. The problem is that theres not a lot of tools to allow them to be edited :)

mrbones
10-02-2008, 08:40 PM
Theyll work in LW. The problem is that theres not a lot of tools to allow them to be edited :)

There is now,

There is the BVH hacker and TrueSpace7.6 Free.

Visit my website for more information.

http://www.truebones.com

Cheers

SplineGod
10-03-2008, 12:16 AM
True enough but in this case I was referring to within LW itself. I use bvhacker. Actually within LW itself I use IKBoost which is great for editing mocap.

mrbones
10-03-2008, 12:27 AM
True enough but in this case I was referring to within LW itself. I use bvhacker. Actually within LW itself I use IKBoost which is great for editing mocap.

IkBoost must be new then?

I am glad you found a solution, Hopefully soon you will be using IKboost to edit TrueBones BVH in your lightwave projects.

There is a free demo on my website if you are interested.

THanks again and Cheers

_[]_
Ojo
(M)r. Bones
http://www.truebones.com