I know people are wondering if Dynamite is being used in
production so here's an example.

http://www.gametrailers.com/gamepage.php?id=3264

On ProjectGotham, I used Dynamite in 3 scenes, the closeup
shot of the Ferrari's front tire for wheel smoke, the overhead shot
of the city dissolving in the cars wake, and near the end when
the car punches through the smoky end of the road. This program
is truly amazing and although I'm still learning the finer points of
it, we are really impressed with the results.

Phil
10-01-2006, 12:25 PM
UbiGuy has a few interesting scenes that show some problems. It seems like the raytrace gets wedged and the rendering time shoots by up 10 or more times. It's odd and I haven't been able to fully understand it.

It's very cool when it works well (most of the time), but it has a few edge cases like Ubi's that cause trouble. Hopefully Can will be able to fix them up.

cagey5
10-01-2006, 01:34 PM
I had the same raytracing problem. But an e-mail to Can solved that...

Phil
10-01-2006, 01:47 PM
Really? Care to share? :)

cagey5
10-02-2006, 01:42 PM
Sure

1st Pic. No Ray Traced Shadows. Render time 8.7 seconds
2nd Pic +Ray Traced Shadows. Render Time 10 seconds

:)

Phil
10-02-2006, 01:44 PM
You tease :D So what changed to fix your raytrace problems? New build, workaround or something else? I've not heard from him for a while - Ubi said he was nailing down the OSX release....

Phil
10-02-2006, 01:49 PM
Hmmm. You get dots in your raytraced output too? Interesting. I filed a bug with Can about that.

cagey5
10-02-2006, 01:54 PM
Yep. That was on 'best quality' setting too.

UbiGuy
10-03-2006, 11:10 AM
My render time problem is linked to the particle shader not to the Fluid shader.

I got suddent render time peek just because the Raymarcher Tracer are not optimized yet. But it will be soon, Can work on it... I hope...

I think Dynamite will be soon the best particule shader for smoke and explosions.