PDA

View Full Version : .3ds import questions



borkus
09-23-2006, 03:58 PM
how do i import .3ds? it says in the feature highlights on newteks site that lightwave will import .3ds and .obj. i've gotten .obj, but can't find out how to bring in .3ds. pity, becuase i have so many models from through the years. please help :compbeati

RudySchneider
09-23-2006, 05:02 PM
Have you even tried? All ya gott do is click File > Load Object..., and navigate to your .3DS file. At least that's how it works for me!

JamesCurtis
09-23-2006, 08:34 PM
Just a note:

I have had some issues regarding some .3ds files loading into LW9 Layout properly - not showing a surface name in the objects. Loading them into Modeler sometimes works, but I usually use Polytrans because it is more reliable.

meshpig
09-24-2006, 06:29 AM
Borkus...

- "conv 3d.p" is the plug-in for 8 anyway. No prob.

Rudy... sure, but no .p no use.



:)

RudySchneider
09-24-2006, 11:59 AM
Rudy... sure, but no .p no use.

Aha, silly me. I just took it for granted that this was an inherent feature of LightWave. I shudda knowd it weren't that simple.

Thanks for setting me straight, meshpig...

liquidpope
09-24-2006, 01:24 PM
I use Acad at work, and always save out my better models to 3ds files.
Importing into LW really is as simple as loading any other LW model.
No plug-ins needed, no conversion, nothing.

The scale and the rotation will be different, but you can set that up as you load the model. You'll want scale to be 0.0254, and you'll want to rotate 90 degrees on Pitch.

That'll get you started.