PDA

View Full Version : using weightmaps for alphas on textures?



cresshead
09-21-2006, 04:38 PM
has anyone got a tutorial on using weightmaps for alphas on textures?...

sorta want to paint weights/vetex map to place rusty areas on a model...
the weightmap would show thru that damages area or cut out the alpha on a texture...

if you get what i mean...:D

err...:help:

MooseDog
09-21-2006, 04:52 PM
hope this helps:

http://www.andynicholas.com/thezone/index.php?area=showitem&fromarea=art&article=1

although as well, identifying alpha areas is not just for procedurals :thumbsup:

cresshead
09-21-2006, 05:02 PM
thank you!
:thumbsup:

colkai
09-22-2006, 03:19 AM
Used to be a Darktree one too about making a rusty dagger.
In a nutshell, you use a gradient, based on a wieghtmap, to control your alpha layers.

BeeVee
09-22-2006, 03:52 AM
Hey, you guys all have LW9, right? This is really easy to do with nodes and gradients...

B

BeeVee
09-22-2006, 07:27 AM
By the way, here's an example. Remember you can do "show output" on your gradient keys so that you can put different textures in, rather than just the colours as I show here... Oh yes, also bear in mind that Viper in 9.0 doesn't show the weight map changes, so you'll need an F9 to see what you're getting (but that will change).

B

MooseDog
09-22-2006, 07:56 AM
so you'll need an F9 to see what you're getting (but that will change).

oh? :D whatcha got there beevee? :hey:

nodes change everything, don't they. so **** powerful. thx! :newtek:

BeeVee
09-22-2006, 08:06 AM
...and so simple. Two nodes for the basic, but you can make it as complex as you like by showing the keys in the gradient. You could even make the weight map have different values for the forehead stripe than the nose stripe and put two different textures in and base them on further image maps or procedurals until you have an immense tangle-o'-nodes. In short, v. cool indeed.

B