PDA

View Full Version : How do I load a Motion Path into Modeler as Rail Extrude Path?



CROUTON213
09-15-2006, 11:41 AM
Hi, How can I take a motion path created in Layout and get that into Modeler as a Rail Extrude Path? I am trying to create a circuit that connects several objects positioned in Layout. This same motion path will be used for a lens flare to make it look like data travelling though a pipeline. The pipeline is what I need to build in modeler. Thanks.
-qb

tischbein3
09-15-2006, 12:05 PM
Did this some month ago (plugin name is tibe3_motiontocurve)
the only restriction is
you have to keep tension bias etc. at default values.


hope this helps
chris

bob anderson
09-15-2006, 12:14 PM
Create the motion file for an object. (Usually the camera) Select the object, go to save, and save motion file. This will load into modeler as a path for path extrusion. There used to be a "bug" (ish) long ago, and i don't know if it was fixed, but you used to have to add the .mot file extention to the motion file in order for the modeler tool to see it.

Hope this helps,

Bob Anderson

CROUTON213
09-15-2006, 12:34 PM
Excellent! Thank you very much. It appears that tibe3_Motion2Curve plugin works great. I didn't try anything else just yet because, to quote Circuit City, "this was Just What I Needed!"