PDA

View Full Version : Surface causing Spots?



Johnny
09-13-2006, 08:35 AM
or artifacts, what have you. they are the little black squares within the red line cirlces.

I changed the surface on that orange and red thing to be a glass type material, which uses fast fresnel and thin film. I've used variations of that surf lots of times before without issue, but who knows?

any thoughts on what I should attack first as a means of getting rid of these render artifacts? AA set to classic medium enhanced, btw. 4 RT recursions..

thanks!

J

http://www.coffeeonmars.com/spots.jpg

Bytehawk
09-13-2006, 10:11 AM
check your gradients in the nodes and see they don't go past 0 or 1 (spline interpolation), especially in the reflection channel.

to test, just add a multiply scalar node with .5 right before the output node

if your render comes out clean then, delete the node and look for gradient or other logical errors in the tree.

Johnny
09-13-2006, 11:38 AM
that surface doesn't have gradients in it, so what are the other areas I need to look at?

thank you


J

Bytehawk
09-13-2006, 01:21 PM
try disabling fast fresnel