PDA

View Full Version : New to Lightwave and I need a some help

Scott D
09-04-2006, 12:42 PM
I'm new to the 3D modeling world and I am trying to find a good PC to start out with. A friend recomended a...

HP Pavilion Media Center Desktop PC
• AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 3800+
• 250GB SATA hard drive
• 1024MB of DDR SDRAM
• Double-layer DVD±R/RW
• LightScribe-enabled
• nVIDIA® GeForce™ 6150LE Graphics Card

I'll be running Lightwave 9. I do have a PowerMac G4 but it doesn't have a graphics card and I also have a Mac mini Intel 1.5GHz but I read that Lightwave will not run on it. Any help you guys can give would be greatly appreciated.

Paulifra
09-05-2006, 05:25 AM
have a look at this site and make your conclusions.

http://www.blanos.com/Benchmark

BeeVee
09-05-2006, 07:45 AM
Hi Scott D,

For a computer for LightWave, the important considerations are memory and processor power, and graphics card power is also important, but less so (everything else, like drive size or type or DVD burner make is largely irrelevant). LightWave actually has pretty low requirements for a 3D package, but even so, buying a new computer will see you right. For the first computer you list, everything seems fine although the nVidia 6150LE card seems a little underpowered. The IntelMac mini *will* run LightWave, however until the advent of the universal binary version that's coming soon, it will render slowly. Modelling will be okay. The G4 should have a graphics card, assuming you are using it with a monitor and not a teleprinter? and will almost certainly also run LightWave v9 just fine.

B

Scott D
09-05-2006, 12:55 PM
Thanks for the much needed help guys. I Really appreciate it.

liquidpope
09-06-2006, 01:40 PM
I ran LW 5.6 on a 90MHZ pentium with 40MB ram for an incredibly long year and a half. (1995 or so)
Most of that year and a half was waiting for renders.
It ran quite well, no problems, just slow as heck.
Save money = spend time, spend money = save time.

BeeVee
09-07-2006, 01:59 AM