PDA

View Full Version : What's the best platform to run lightwave on and...

apocalpsedude
06-06-2003, 06:40 AM
in my particular case (which I will will explain below) is there any point moving away from Mac.

Ok so I'm a graphic designer / illustrator working as part of a 9 man team within a big company with our own printers. All of our designers and repro folks use macs.
The majority of my time these days is spent creating static Illustrations in Lightwave although I still work in conjunction with the other guys on other projects some of the time.
It was suggested that maybe I should get a silicone graphics workstation to do lightwave stuff on.
The question is would this be benificial to me (and would I have compatability issues?) or am I best just getting a brand spanking new G4?

meshmaster
06-06-2003, 08:14 AM
and it runs smooth, but if you don't have any windows installs and are running all sorts of mac apps, I don't see any reason for you to move from that platform....

stevejh101
06-06-2003, 09:46 AM
There's no need to change platform.

I work in a Mac environment and I use Lightwave predominently for print.
The pc is generally faster for 3D work but when you're rendering overnight or the weekend for hi-res images it doesn't really matter.

I'm running LW 7.5 on a dual 1.4 with 2 GB Ram and LW works very well.
I would suggest getting a GeForce 4 card though, as I had all sorts of problems with the Radeon.

Lamont
06-06-2003, 09:58 AM
It doesn't really matter. But from reading posts, Mac users get the shaft more often on some plug-ins.

Bigger, badder and better. That's it. Platform isn't relevant. Just make sure it's a fast as hell machine.

If you have $$ to buy an SGI, then I say get a BOXX... they are running a special I think still.

jevinstudios
06-07-2003, 04:37 PM