PDA

View Full Version : 3 Dual Display Questions



Paul_Newman
06-05-2003, 01:12 PM
(1) Is the nVidia Quadro4 280NVS AGP8x 64Mb Dual 350 RAMDAC a good adapter for viewing the VT[2/3] on a dual monitor setup?

(2) What is a good resolution for a dual display running on 19" CRT monitors?

(3) Does a dual monitor setup for the Toaster really beat a very high resolution (1600 x 1200) display on a single 21" monitor?

Paul

videoguy
06-05-2003, 01:22 PM
1> yes
2> i run 3200 by 1600
3> HE!! YEAH dual monitors make things so much easier i couldnt live with out them

Paul_Newman
06-05-2003, 01:29 PM
Thanks for those 3 simple but assuring answers, VideoGuy. I'm configuring a dedicated edit system so that my VT[2] can finally get a new home that doesn't have to be shared with Lightwave, 2D apps, web browsing, word processing, Java programming . . .

Ryan
06-05-2003, 01:29 PM
I am running two 21inch monitors at [email protected] on my toaster at work. At home I have two 19inch monitors running the same res and refresh. I love it. Just today I got a third monitor and want to do 1600x1200 on all of them.

To answer your questions.

1 Havnet had first hand experaince but im sure they would be at least equivilent to the Geforce4 Ti series. I would bet that the image quality would be much better on the quadro but i cant confrim this.


2 If you can run 1600x1200 on your 19s at a decent refresh rate. Go for it. But if you get stuck at 70hz or lower i would probly go down to 1280x1024. I can run my monitors 10-25hz over spec so might try going beyond thier rating if you are willing to take the small risk of damaging your monitor.

3 Yes I would much rather have 2x 19inch monitors than one 21.

Now I have a question of my own. Any one out there using a matrox perhilia (spelling?) for triple head. And has anyone used a G4 Ti4200 with a G4 420mx pci, to get triple head.
I already have the Ti4200 so I would like to stick with that if I can.
3200x1200 is so much better than 1600x1200 or 1920x1440, 4800x1200 sounds awfuly cool.

After going dual theres no going back. I hear its the same for triple.

Ryan

Paul_Newman
06-05-2003, 01:39 PM
I have always wished for a triple or quad LCD setup with the frames removed and the display surfaces moved so close together that they touch, and the whole lot configured in an arc around the operator [me of course].

Quadro4 400NVS Quad display.

Imagine 6400 x 1200!!

bbeanan
06-06-2003, 09:42 PM
All I have to say is....

see...

http://www.9xmedia.com/pages-Build_a_system/X-Top_Expert---5_over_5.html

I want that!! (it's only $155k ($155,000 USD!!!)

Jim Capillo
06-07-2003, 05:23 AM
That's awesome......

Paul_Newman
06-07-2003, 08:43 AM
All I have to say is . . .

this thread has gotten WAY out of hand.

I also want one!

bbeanan
06-07-2003, 08:57 AM
Take a look at their site they do sell all the way down to a dual display and everything in between. All of their monitors have micro bezels so that you do not end up with 6" of frame between monitors... more like 1"

edmellnik
06-17-2003, 03:30 PM
IT looks like many of these boards have one VGA and one DVI connector. Are they using the DVI output with an adapter to get the second monitor?
ed

Ryan
06-21-2003, 07:29 AM
Yes. At least mine came with dvi to vga adapter. So can run to analog displays of a VGA and a DVI port.