PDA

View Full Version : Distributed Renderer Needed for Lightwave, Max & Maya



markjores
08-14-2006, 05:17 AM
I'm being asked to propose an upgrade for the office 3d pipeline & would welcome a few suggestions.

Currently I use Lightwave 8.5, the other guy is stuck using Max 4 & is keen to migrate to Maya in the near future. Hopefully we're going to upgrade to dual core / processor machines each but I want to adapt another standard p4 3.2ghz as a render only station, since we cant feasibly do any other work whilst rendering on our own pc's.

So can anyone recommend a stand alone renderer/ distributed renderer out there that we could use with at least 3 nodes & a mix of Lightwave, Max (with Brazil) & possibly Maya?

Am looking at Muster (expensive & not sure what the supports like) & Butterfly renderer?

SP00
08-14-2006, 07:47 AM
All, I can say is that a Lightwave Render Farm is far cheaper than everyone else. No yearly lincense and one copy of LW allows you 999 render nodes. You could just try to convert Maya files to Lightwave and render everything out in LW. Better yet, convince the other guy to use LW.

nukemodular
08-14-2006, 08:16 AM
u may look at http://harpoon.boom.ru/ ...but itīs lw and maya only...

...muster maybe a good choice if it would run with lw8.5 or 9 ...i wasnīt able to get it work correctly, because of the quotationmarks in the command... it always crashes...maybe someone has an idea or work around...

cornbreadandham
08-14-2006, 08:55 AM
Yesterday I setup a Dr.Queue mini-farm. It's free and fairly easy to setup.
http://www.drqueue.org/

markjores
08-14-2006, 09:19 AM
Hmmm... Dr Queue looks very ....technical.

Am now looking at Spider, which is free & seems to address Lightwave, Max & Maya. Just trying to get installation priviliges to install it....

Anyone used that?

Cageman
08-15-2006, 12:35 AM
You can have a look at Muster. It is pretty easy to use and can handle LW, Maya, Max, XSI, After Effects and Shake.

http://www.vvertex.com/

It is a bit pricey, but it doesn't cost anything to add CPU:s to the farm. Some of the renderfarm managers also add cost to how many CPU:s you want to use with the farm.

nukemodular
08-15-2006, 02:49 AM
You can have a look at Muster. It is pretty easy to use and can handle LW, Maya, Max, XSI, After Effects and Shake.

http://www.vvertex.com/

It is a bit pricey, but it doesn't cost anything to add CPU:s to the farm. Some of the renderfarm managers also add cost to how many CPU:s you want to use with the farm.

i donīt think muster is able to handle lw8.5 or lw9...anyone got it running with the new versions of lw?

Cageman
08-23-2006, 10:50 PM
I've tested Muster with LW8.3, LW8.5 and LW9.0 using both Classic and Perspective camera without problems.

Here is an old video I made during the beta-cycle of LW9.0.

http://hangar18.campus.luth.se/~cageman/LW9/LightWave9_and_Virtual_Vertex_Muster.wmv

markjores
08-24-2006, 02:41 AM
That video looks very persuasive, especially when comparing the render times.
Did it take long to set muster up? Do most plugins still work when network rendering with it?

Cageman
08-24-2006, 03:02 AM
It is dead easy to setup... (I can produce a quick video for that). To my knowledge, all plugins that works with LW9 and LWSN should work. Also, I've noticed that LW9.0 renders SG_Ambient Occlusion surfaces faster, at least when you render them with Surface override.

I haven't used Muster with LW9-specific features. Mostly I use LW9 to render stuff done in LW8.3. However, there shouldn't take long to do an experiemnt with APS, Displacements and Nodal to see if those works as well.

Wilson_2
08-24-2006, 03:26 AM
Hey guys..

I am new to network render but can any one tell me which of this renderer supports Split render for one huge frame...?
Screamer does it...?

Cageman
08-24-2006, 05:28 AM
Hey guys..

I am new to network render but can any one tell me which of this renderer supports Split render for one huge frame...?
Screamer does it...?

Muster and Tequila can split a frame into segments. However, Muster have problems reasemble the pieces, so that part have to be done by hand. Tequila seems to do the job better.

EDIT: http://www.frenchwave.org/Forums/viewtopic/t=250.html It is a plugin that you run in LightWave. What happens is that it splits a scene into several scenefiles, each scene renders a section of the total image. Those scenefiles can be rendered on a farm, or using Jeremy Hardins Batchrenderer. (http://jeremy.lwidof.net/lscript/) (Scroll down to Batch Render LWSN).

Cageman
08-24-2006, 06:15 AM
Here is a breif walkthrough on how to install and use Muster:

Installing

1. Install Muster as Console applications rather than System services.
Reason: System services may require some in-depth knowledge of how to configure and manage users/user-rights as well as customizing which user should trigger the renderclient.

2. Type your computername instead of "localhost".

3. Leave everything else at default.

4. Don't run Muster after installation. Read further down instead...




Running

1. From Windows startmenu, locate Muster Dispatcher Service, run it

2. From Windows startmenu, locate Muster renderclient service, run it

3. Start Muster Management console

4. In menu, select Network -> Scan Network, your computer should pop up.

5. Right-click on computername and select Connect

6. Right-click again and select Configure.

7. Watch the video (http://hangar18.campus.luth.se/~cageman/LW9/Muster_Setup.mov) provided. No sound, just video.

Muster Manage Console is the place you configure the server and clients.
Muster Explorer is the place where you manage the farm, submit jobs, etc, etc.

NOTE: I asume that you already know how to configure LW-configfiles so that they can locate plugins etc through a network.

se7enyw
12-04-2006, 01:58 AM
Yesterday I setup a Dr.Queue mini-farm. It's free and fairly easy to setup.
http://www.drqueue.org/

care to pm me about setting up drqueue?

dballesg
12-04-2006, 02:44 AM
Hi,

Beign tested the Muster demo version, and now having Butterfly netrender on the office, I quite like prefer the last one.

Best regards,
David

Limbus
12-04-2006, 03:40 AM
I can recommend Smedge. It can controll almost every renderer there is, its easy to set up and easy to controll while beeing very powerfull. I think it is something like $85 for every computer that renders frames.

Florian