PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave v9 licensing problems

Mjoker
08-11-2006, 11:44 AM
Hello all, I just got LW 9 yesterday. I'm new to all this.
I'm having some issues with it. I tried to install it on a pc. I read (in a previous post) about a similar situation. However, I'm not having the exact same issues.

I finally got the program installed. However, the program doesn't appear to recognize the dongle. I can open the program, but get a prompt saying the licensing key is not found... contact Newtek (Which I have done and am awaiting a response). The program then goes into "Discovery" mode.

Any advice as to how to solve this would be greatly appreciated.

androidmaker
08-11-2006, 12:15 PM
open the directory that you have lightwave in probably "c:\programfiles\newtek\lightwave 3d 9\programs" look for a file called license.key and open it with notepad. then just enter the key you get from the regastration page and you should be good to go. if that wont work try to restart your system so the dongle drivers work. i hope this helps

ChrisPitts
08-11-2006, 03:19 PM
Hi Mjoker

Go to the programs folder, and run the registration wizard, if you haven't done so yet. That will help you get your license key automatically.

If you prefer to talk to a person (and with our lovely and talented Customer Service staff, who would blame you?), then call 1-800-862-7837. Those folks will be happy to help get you up and running.

Happy Lightwaving!

Mjoker
08-14-2006, 09:03 AM
Thanks for your reply. However, I can't register my copy of Lightwave 9 because of an apparent issue with the dongle and Modeler.

I'm supposed to open Modeler to get the lock id. However when the Dongle is connected, I get an "internal error" from Modeler. Yet if, I detach the dongle and open Modeler, it will open, but in "discovery mode". Of course in discovery mode I can't get the lock id.