PDA

View Full Version : Help with H.261 or H.263 codec AVIs?



Bog
08-11-2006, 04:00 AM
I'm trying to compress something to H.263 (I'll settle for H.261) AVI format, and it doesn't seem to like any of the frame sizes I try, at all. I've been trying to send it to multiples of 16 (everthing from 320x160 up to 640x480) and it keeps giving me a "resolution not supported" error.

Anyone got any ideas?

UnCommonGrafx
08-11-2006, 06:24 AM
All the references I'm able to find reference 176x144 as the prescribed sized. Whatchya trying to do?

Bog
08-11-2006, 07:08 AM
Just making an animated texture for a realtime thingy. Anyone with XP seems to have H.261 installed, so that was the obvious maximum-portability codec. Thanks a bundle!

lilrayray77
08-11-2006, 01:17 PM
They are intended for internet streams right? With my experience they are of ver low, lossy quality. The new h264 codec is amazing if you can use that. There is a video convertor called SUPER (http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html) which will convert to H264 so I would say check it out. It isnt terribly well known yet but anyone with the latest version of quicktime would be fine.