PDA

View Full Version : Interior Render Tutorials Anyone?

Filmdesigner
08-10-2006, 02:23 AM
I am not very good at rendering interior scenes. I am looking for some "how to's" from my esteemed collegues and fellow lightwavers.

Radiosity or light rig set-ups and render parameters would be useful.

Cheers, Phil

dablan
08-10-2006, 09:20 AM
Hey Phil,
for interiors, can lights (spots) always work well. This gives that recessed lighting look.

For radiosity (indirect illumination) do not rely only on this. In LightWave, radiosity works best in conjunction with other lights. Use the radiosity to help "fill" the indirect areas of the scene. Area lights work well as soft interior light sources.

MooseDog
08-10-2006, 09:38 AM
Daylight Setup with Radiosity Added (http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8388)

as dablan noted, g.i. is your helper, not your saviour.

Filmdesigner
08-10-2006, 08:46 PM
Sorry guys! (Hey Dan, love your books!) I should have been more specific. There are certain particular tricks to achieving a quality render instead of a flat or washed-out render. I have the tendency to light my interior to suit the film work I do, which is moody and dramatic. I am having trouble achieving an "advertising" feel, if you know what I mean.

I will post an image in the "Work in progress" section.

Thanks, Phil

dablan
08-10-2006, 09:00 PM
Glad to hear that! Thanks.