PDA

View Full Version : What is Lightwave 3D 9 Discovery Edition?

Chuckpie
08-06-2006, 08:58 PM
I am a newbie to Lightwave and I was told to I could download the discovery edition to try it out. the problem is the manual does not match the download. Mainly the modeler access is not in the upper right corner of this edition and the discovery version has an extra tab above the workspace called modeler tools. Also is there a site to get a video(dvd) or good learning manual for version 9 yet?
Thanks Chuck:help:
:help:

BazC
08-07-2006, 01:53 AM
There is no difference between the Discovery edition and the full edition, they're actually the same app! Lightwave uses a hardware device called a dongle to authenticate the license, if this isn't plugged into the computer LW runs in "Discovery mode" the only differences I am aware of are you are limited to 400 points per layer, there is a watermark on renders and the hub is disabled. The hub allows communication between Layout and Modeler. Without it you can't switch between them with the buttons in the top right corner. If you're in demo mode the buttons should be there, if they aren't try rebooting your machine.

I believe LW9 should run in full trial mode (no limitations) for 30 days before changing to the limited Discovery mode.

There are no published books on LW9 yet, it's only been out a couple of weeks! Much of what has been written for earlier versions is still applicable though.

pumeco
08-07-2006, 04:26 AM
There's a Discovery Edition - where?

I've looked for a demo of LightWave, but can't find it under downloads, and I don't have a copy of LightWave to register in order to get access to other downloads.

How would I get a copy? :help:

BazC
08-07-2006, 05:01 AM
Hmm, no I can't find it on Newteks site either.....

Phil
08-07-2006, 05:18 AM
Drop a note to [email protected]

SP00
08-07-2006, 05:21 AM