PDA

View Full Version : spacebar edge selection mode -remove?



erikals
08-06-2006, 05:25 PM
Morning /Evening,

Wondering, is there any way to remove the spacebar edge selection mode?
Just can't seem to find an option for editing those 3 selection shortcuts Point/Edge/Poly.

:yoda:

ShawnStovall
08-06-2006, 08:01 PM
Just go to edit shortcuts and take it off of the space shortcut.

erikals
08-06-2006, 11:56 PM
Thanks, but, under Alt+F9 it says "Space = Change Selection Mode"... that's it, I can't find myself to find the 3 modes.

monovich
08-07-2006, 12:50 AM
I second this question/request. ugh...
I do need to learn how to model with edges more, though...

Bog
08-07-2006, 01:50 AM
It's a bit odd, isn't it?

Do any other long-term 'wavers find their previously encoded muscle memory of

Points *slap* Polys *slap* Include *slap* Exclude kicking back in? ;)

Phil
08-07-2006, 03:08 AM
Yep. I still find myself getting horribly annoyed by failing to be in the right mode. Usually, I end up in Edges mode when I wanted polys *sigh*

It's all these years of LW being stuck in a rut - it has taken me with it and I am struggling to adapt now that NT found the accelerator under all the crisp packets and pizza boxes. :)

erikals
08-13-2006, 03:47 PM
Ah, solution, use pmode plugin, found the code here : )
http://www.splinecage.com/forums/showthread.php?t=821

colkai
08-14-2006, 03:21 AM
It's a bit odd, isn't it?

Do any other long-term 'wavers find their previously encoded muscle memory of

Points *slap* Polys *slap* Include *slap* Exclude kicking back in? ;)

Ahh, not just me then, good. :p
I've moved the layout of the bottom edge so points and polys are now next to each other, assignied edges to Alt+E so it's distinct from the normal Ctrl G/H/J for point, poly, volume. :)

erikals
08-14-2006, 03:36 AM
Think I'll jump on that Alt+E shortcut ;)

colkai
08-14-2006, 03:38 AM
It never occured to me for the longest while that the bottom edge of the layout menus was editable too, DOH! - It just feels better for me.
Work in points, spacebar, work in polys, Ctrl+G back to points. :) ..repeat and rinse :p

mj418
08-14-2006, 04:03 AM
It never occured to me for the longest while that the bottom edge of the layout menus was editable too, DOH! - It just feels better for me.
Work in points, spacebar, work in polys, Ctrl+G back to points. :) ..repeat and rinse :p

Yep. :agree:

erikals
08-20-2006, 06:07 AM
Ah, solution, use pmode plugin, found the code here : )
http://www.splinecage.com/forums/showthread.php?t=821

Ugh, just figured this plug does not deselect the current tool.
There is the pmodeDT plugin, but it only deselects a selection.
(Edit: Now I'm confused, read som places it does work, read other places it doesn't, anyways, any links to the pmodeDT.p seems to be gone.. agh, the pain on a Sunday mornin'..)

Don't like LW9's old workflow, hope there is a fix in the future :/

erikals
08-20-2006, 06:58 PM
Allright, pmodeDT is what you need :)
You can find it on Macphail's website, http://www.kevinmacphail.com/resources/pixelpot.html