PDA

View Full Version : Help with angle PLEASE

DHudson
08-03-2006, 08:06 AM
Hello-

I have been working on this room for a while to display a client's wood mouldings. The angle at top and bottom of the moulding on the right side of the columnar wall should be at the same angle, shouldn't they?

I can't seem to fix it with the camera angle. Is there a fix here? It would be parallel in real life, why can't I make it here?

Also - I want the background moulding to be a bit more fuzzy. I have the DOF focal distance set at 32.2 m (just to the back tip of the fore moulding), with the lens f-stop set at 2.75.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Penforhire
08-03-2006, 11:23 AM
Can't help with the first question but I have some recent frustrating experience with DOF. :)

You may need to go even lower in f-stop. The number has little connection to the results you expect if you know photography. Have you activated DOF and are you rendering with at least Medium AA (less than that will not implement DOF in the render)?

DHudson
08-03-2006, 11:31 AM
Yes, I have DOF check marked and I am using enhanced medium AA. I was reading through Don Ablan's 'Inside LW8' book, and followed his suggestion of adding a null in order to get "Range Finder" set up. I did this. Still to no avail.

help help!

gjjackson
08-03-2006, 11:56 AM
I know I've seen this done. It was done with some type of camera technique. I haven't had a need for such a camera view so I can't remember how it's done. It seems I seen it in a video.

kruemel_1
08-03-2006, 12:12 PM
to the first question: no they shouldn't. All Lines in perspective projection are projecte towards a point, so parallel lines have in perspective an angle. To get parallel lines you have to use the ortho camera (parallel projection camera).
To the second question: try a very small f-stop value (below 1.0). 32.3m seems to me a long focal length for this detail, with a pocketcam i would suppose the picture taken from 1-2m .

DHudson