PDA

View Full Version : File/Import in Modeller does nothing (?)



ewiederer
08-02-2006, 08:24 PM
I am brand new to LW (8.5) and pretty much trying to teach myself at the moment, so maybe I'm missing something totally obvious, BUT ...

I would like to import a DXF file into Modeller, but when I choose Import under the File menu, it does absolutely nothing. No error message, no crash, and most importantly, no import dialog box...

Help?

BazC
08-03-2006, 02:01 AM
You don't need to import dxf, just use load object and it will open just like a .lwo file! :D

ChrisPitts
08-03-2006, 10:19 AM
If you seem to be missing buttons, follow this tutorial from our FAQ section:

http://www.newtek.com/faq/index.php?tree=true&category=75

1. Goto the Utilities Menu.

2. Under Plugins select Edit Plugins.

3. Once the Edit Plugins Menu Comes up select Scan Directory.

4.Use the Browse for folder to select the Plugins folder in the LightWave Directory.

In Windows the default path is C:Program FilesLightWave [8]Plugins

On OS X the default path is Hard Drive:Applications:LightWave [8]:Plugins

Once you have the folder hit ok. For the Mac users hit choose.

5.There will be a pop up that says Add Plugins hit Ok.

6.Go ahead and hit scan directory again.

5.Use the Browse for folder to select the Legacy Plugins folder in the LightWave Directory. In Windows the default path is C:Program FilesLightWave [8]Legacy Plugins On OS X the default path is Hard Drive:Applications:LightWave [8]:Legacy Plugins

7. Once you have the folder hit ok. For the Mac users hit choose.

8.There will be another pop up saying Add Plugins hit ok.

9.Close the Edit Plugins by hitting done.

10.Now goto Edit and choose Edit Menu Layout (PC Shortcut is Alt+F10)(Mac Shortcut is Option+F10)

11.Under Presets choose Default.(If this option is grayed out select 7.0 Style then go back and select Default).

12.Once you have chosen Default hit Done.

13.Close LightWave or Modeler.

14.Open LightWave or Modeler you will now have all the buttons and plugins.

ewiederer
08-08-2006, 10:15 AM
So, I was able to load the DXF file like you suggested on my office Mac, but I get an "Error reading file ..." message on my Mac at home... Any ideas why that would be?

On what might be a related issue, I'm working on a project between work and home. All the files (objects, scene) are in one folder, but the paths to the folder are slightly different between the two Macs. Sometimes, but not always, I will get an error when trying to save an object that it is "read-only"

Chilton
08-10-2006, 08:38 AM
Is the DXF error in LW or another app?

-Chilton

ewiederer
08-10-2006, 10:48 PM
It was in LW... In between, I updated my system software and ran permissions repairs, and now the DXF opens...

Chilton
08-11-2006, 08:42 AM
This permissions issue is starting to tick me off.*