PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 9 is responding very slowly ?!



andy gee
07-30-2006, 05:33 AM
Hi 2 all

im having a bit of a problem with LW9 all of a sudden it has decided to run

very slowly, i have to wait a good few minutes for modeller/ layout to even

load let alone load a scene.

Also what i have noticed is that when i add morph mixer in layout it takes

a while to get the panel on screen and again a while to refresh.

Now, i am wondering if it is conflicting with my Norton Internet security

program ? because i have heard of some people say that it doesnt work well

with fire walls or something. If this is the case how to i improve LW9's

speed ?

Thanks

Andy Gee

walfridson
07-30-2006, 05:51 AM
There are several threads about this. Untill newtek fix this, you can disable the hub. Or delete *.cfg or reinstall the dongle. Sometimes it works...

andy gee
07-30-2006, 06:44 AM
ok have reinstalled lw seems to work a bit faster but not much also i have noticed that in modeller creating morphs makes modeller slow and also moving points about doesnt refresh until you click on screen.

I cant recall everhaving these sorts of issues with version 7.5
so frustrating that Lightwave hasnt sorted out its stability issues, hopefully by version 20 they will have cracked it !

Thanks

Andy Gee

andy gee
07-30-2006, 06:59 AM
How would i go about reinstalling the dongle ? and what is this *.cfg file

thanks

Andy Gee

walfridson
07-30-2006, 08:38 AM
\Newtek\LightWave 3D 9\Sentinel Protection Installer 7.3.0.exe
In your install folder

C:\Documents and Settings\your login\
lightwave configs(.cfg) location.

andy gee
07-30-2006, 09:28 AM
Hi

i cant seem to see this file in my user folder

what is the name of the file ?

is it the lw9 cgf or the lwhub9 cgf etc..

thanks

Andy Gee

Dodgy
07-30-2006, 09:53 AM
No. Run the file Sentinel Protection Installer 7.3.0.exe which is in the directory \Newtek\LightWave 3D 9\ where \Newtek means the place you installed your lightwave.

The configs are separate files, found in C:\Documents and Settings\your login\

andy gee
07-30-2006, 10:13 AM
Strange thing has happened

i was curious as to see whether lw9 is slow with other objects with morphs ect and all of my other character objects with morphs load perfectly and when i press the M button for new morph in modeller it doesnt freeze Lightwave so does this mean that there is a fault with that 1 character object file if so what can i do to cure it ?

Thanks

Andy Gee