PDA

View Full Version : Correct Memory Allotment: Please Advise



Giacomo99
07-25-2006, 08:41 PM
Hello-

I'm doing my first job with LW9. I'm on a Dual 2.5 G5 with 3GB of RAM. Everything seems to be going OK, except for two things:

1. How high should I allot my "Segment Memory?" I've got it at 128MB right now and the scene seems to be rendering faster than at 8MB (it's certainly using fewer segments: 2 at 128MB vs. 7 at 8MB) My question is: is there a downside to cranking the segment memory up even higher? If not, why does it default to such a ridiculously low number?

2. When I'm rendering, the top line of the "Render Status" window says "Memory: 297K" at top right. That can't possibly be correct, can it? The scene seems to be handling OK and rendering at a reasonable speed, but is there any way to improve performance by increasing LW's overall memory usage?

Please advise.

GM

avkills
07-25-2006, 09:30 PM
How big of a image are you rendering. Actually 32MB is suitable for SD and some HD resolutions.

-mark

Giacomo99
07-26-2006, 01:16 PM
I'm doing print-resolution renderings. The current job is 6 x 9 inches at 300dpi, so 1800 x 2700.

GM

avkills
07-26-2006, 02:11 PM
I would then set it as high as you can get away with. :D

-mark

mike_stening
07-27-2006, 08:25 AM
basically for rendering you want to set the segment limit to 1, so what ever memory is required to set it at that, i do alot of print renders so set the segment limit so it goes to one and you are fine, if you have plenty of ram there is no need to set it to 2 or more segments.