PDA

View Full Version : New fileds

criodesign
07-21-2006, 08:41 AM
Dear all,
:help:
I'm starting new project for my future.
I'm a LW user since long time, and I've worked in the Industrial Design field.
But now something is changing inside me!
I'm a good modeler, and I have an artistic formation, and I want to start to model for the entertainment field.
There are many question in my mynd.
First of all I note that 3dmax have a big diffusion, probably the leadership in this field. Probably because it use the directx, I think.
The other software request for the game developping in europe is Maya.
Witch titles are made using LW?
What about my LW user exerience in this scenario.
Do you think it's necessary to learn the modellig tecniques and use the instruments of other software?

I speak much more as a player than a game developper because at the moment I play the games, and I dont realize them!!!

This is the start of this discussion, and I hope to find someone that can help me to find a solution.

criodesign
07-22-2006, 12:59 PM
No reply?
Is there something wrong in my thread!

mjcrawford
07-22-2006, 01:31 PM
lots of games use Lightwave.. EVA for one, Quake for another.. the Torqe engine can inport Lightwave objects if you want to do somthing on your own...

criodesign
07-22-2006, 04:53 PM
Thank you mjcrawford!:D

I dont findo Eva! But I know quake very well!
I've seen the torque site, very interesting.
In another thread I've seen the BehoindVirtual and the 3dgamestudio.

Witch is the aproach to start to model for games?
I mean: I know that the models must have less polygons as possible, but the polygon with three edges or four edges?
And what abuto te texturing?
How many bits/pixel must contain the textures files?
Were can I find the basic information to start?
Do you know if the Game designer Bible exists?

Do you work in this field?

Skinner3D
07-22-2006, 05:45 PM