PDA

View Full Version : Problems making a model for a TV commercial

TheDynamo
07-17-2006, 05:57 PM
This is my first major modeling project for my boss who has (unfortunately for me) promised a 3D model for this commercial. I say unfortunately because they more or less jumped the gun on this because I'm a newbie to 3D and I really haven't trained as much as I would like.

I've attached one of the versions I have worked on to make this device. It doesn't have to be photorealistic but it does have to resemble it closely. We will be featuring things going on inside the machine and that can be abstract at least. The problem I'm running into is that I just can't figure out the right way to model this object without the mesh being a mess in the perspective window. You know, jaggy polygons and such. Am I missing out on how to make something like this?

I've been attempting to make it using a squashed around cylinder and I've blown about 10 hours on it while continuing to run into a wall about the point where I start getting the control panel on.

Any help would be much appreciated, thankfully the deadline isn't too tight but I would like to have something modeled by the end of this week. :hey:

-Dyn

voriax
07-17-2006, 08:02 PM
You'll get there eventually.. The reason you're getting funny poly effects on the metal control panel is because more than one poly is trying to exist in the same plane.. shift the metal part up and away from the plastic surface and the effect should disappear..
Looks like a simple machine, but it's not exactly an easy request for a first project, eh :)

TheDynamo
07-18-2006, 09:52 AM
Not as easy as I would like, now say if the project was a really cool mug or teapot. Man I'm all over it like white on rice :) **** I might have been able to do something in AE that would work in this time.