PDA

View Full Version : Hyper-thread Tech...how i use in LW??



CaptCarty
07-12-2006, 11:28 AM
hello form another noob, :)

I wanted to know how i can use, or optimize my HT processor for Lightwave, and will i notice any increases, and were?

-running a P4, 3.0 HT, 500 gig hd, and 1 gig mem, ATI X300 pci-e, 128mb vid.

lots
07-12-2006, 12:43 PM
Just use two threads while rendering insted of 1. You wont notice a huge speed gain though.. most likely in the 20% area, as opposed to a REAL dual processor system (about 80%, or slightly higher).

CaptCarty
07-13-2006, 05:40 PM
tnx for the info Lots.

-im trying not to sound so noobish, but how do I run 2 treads?

Tiger
07-13-2006, 05:58 PM
In the Render Options panel.

CaptCarty
07-14-2006, 10:53 AM
Tnx, found it, but i have a few options, ie: 1 thread,2threads.. and so on...

-should I use 2 threads? or will 4 threads work? or is 4 for a true duel proc? and so on? and how many threads can a single HT handle?

jwilli3
07-14-2006, 11:17 AM
-should I use 2 threads? or will 4 threads work? or is 4 for a true duel proc? and so on? and how many threads can a single HT handle?

Do some test renders and find out what works best for you.

CaptCarty
07-14-2006, 02:13 PM
tnx, I was gunna try some test renders, but b4 I did, I just wanted to make sure it wouldnt be harmful to my comp or LW b4 i tryed a render with 2 threads, 4 threads and so on...

-Just didnt want to fry my comp, so I wanted to ask first, :thumbsup:

mattclary
07-14-2006, 07:53 PM
tnx, I was gunna try some test renders, but b4 I did, I just wanted to make sure it wouldnt be harmful to my comp or LW b4 i tryed a render with 2 threads, 4 threads and so on...

-Just didnt want to fry my comp, so I wanted to ask first, :thumbsup:

All i can say is, "Wow". :rolleyes:

stevecullum
07-14-2006, 08:10 PM
Just didnt want to fry my comp, so I wanted to ask first,

Software that fries computers is called a virus - luckly, Lightwave is not one of those, just an amazing 3D app!

(Sorry for the sarcastic English humour :rolleyes: )

Red_Oddity
07-15-2006, 10:57 AM
Actually, i have some benchmark programs that really do fry hardware...One might wonder whatfor...

Bog
07-15-2006, 11:16 AM
Software that fries computers is called a virus - luckly, Lightwave is not one of those, just an amazing 3D app!

Pschaw! Speak for yourself! I've burned the RAM out of more graphics cards than I can count. Blew the GPU on more than one. Melted a couple of CPUs. Had the metallic tinkle of SMT components dripping off the motherboard and raining down into the bottom of the case.

Then again, that was after a couple weeks' solid rendering. For the mobo melt.

stevecullum
07-15-2006, 11:57 AM
Ok, I confess.. I have destroyed a chip and mobo after a week of rendering.. but I blame the weather! It was 28 degress in the house at the time and the fan in the machine wasn't that good... I learnt from that one :hey: