PDA

View Full Version : Hello.. newbie here: mac or pc? desktop or laptop?

notanexpert
07-05-2006, 09:21 AM
hello.. i'm a newbie here.. i'm currently a student, and i want to study abroad to be a college student (in germany) studying architecture...
i've been using a lightwave since i'm in highschool.. and now because i want to leave my comp in my house, i want to but a laptop..

here some questions i want to ask you guys, the-lightwave-experts :D :
1. should i buy a mac or a pc? i've been seeing mac ads and now i think i want a mac.. :D
2. should i buy a laptop, or a desktop comp? i know that desktop is cheaper than laptop, but what do u think? with it's mobility etc. i want a comp with great performance on 3d, and would still be "quite cool computer" in the next 5 years... should i buy laptop, which is cannot be upgraded, or pc?
3. in which platform, or in which form (desktop or laptop) Lightwave perform the best? (although i'm thinking if lightwave not that good in mac.. maybe i'll go to cinema 4d.. sigh.. i love Modeler!!)

regards,
me
(sorry for bad english)

mjcrawford
07-05-2006, 10:44 AM
1. it depends on what you feel better on, I use PC and have no problems, one of my partners uses Mac and she loves it.

2. it depends on your priorities, do you need power, or mobility? I have a quad processor duel graphics cards desktop monster, and a single processor single graphics chip laptop, both run LW just fine but my desktop has multi monitors (nice for seeing your work) and for rendering, a machine like my laptop takes many times longer to render the same frame.

3. I would defer to others on this one, but I personally find that LW works best on a high power PC desktop machine.

jwilli3
07-05-2006, 11:23 AM
Those Mac ads you've been seeing would be the worst reason to purchase one (macs never ever crash, suuuurrrreeee). Try one out and see if you like it and decide from there.

steamthunk
07-05-2006, 12:02 PM