PDA

View Full Version : white screen in qtime..



dlanimation
07-04-2006, 10:59 AM
hi
im using 8.5 and was rendering qtime movies fine.but as of today i get only a white screen when i make a .mov..i can make still image seqs into movies..but am wondering why cant i make a qtime movie at all now..? any help out there?
thanks
dl

dlanimation
07-04-2006, 11:51 AM
i think its related to useing saslite..other scenes do render qtime .movs..
the one im having trouble with is using saslite..
thanks
dl

Avebeno
07-04-2006, 12:20 PM
What are your settings? What codec did you choose?

dlanimation
07-04-2006, 01:09 PM
i tried both animation and video best..

dsol
07-04-2006, 01:23 PM
Normally a white screen on playback in QT player indicates one of the following issues:

(1) the video is using a codec you don't have installed on your system
(2) the QT is damaged or incomplete (for example, the file is still being written to).

Given what you've said it's more likely to be the latter in your case.

Check your compression settings in the output options. I typically use the Animation codec (or PNG image sequences) for finished output, or Apple Photo-JPEG for test anims (Apple Video is an ancient horrible codec that heavily quantizes color spaces - it decimates smooth shading).

And as always, for final output I'd recommend rendering as Image Sequences - not QT. It's easier to fix if a frame screws up or your mac crashes in the middle of a long render!

dlanimation
07-06-2006, 07:28 AM
i loaded items from scene into a new scene and it works now..
i guess i corrupted the qtime setting or something..
thanks
dl