PDA

View Full Version : texturing a mesh/net



mabaza
07-02-2006, 11:53 AM
Hi gang,

I'm looking for any tips on coming up with a texture (painted or procedural) for a microphone mouthpiece as shown in the attached image. I poked around in LW procedurals and the PS texture filters but couldnt find anything that seemed like an obvious solution. :help:

gerry_g
07-02-2006, 12:49 PM
If you are on Intel this guy does a terrific range of free procedural textures (some of his pipe or weave textures might work)
http://perso.orange.fr/dpont/plugins/Textures.htm

If not the weave section in IFW 10 is very comprehensive and purchasing the whole range is well worth the small outlay
http://www.shaders.org/

Alternately if you UV’d the half sphere as a planer UV map and generated a weave pattern in P’shop when you mapped it to the surface the distortion would look almost identical to the picture

nerdyguy227
07-02-2006, 09:59 PM
This shouldnt be hard with lw 9 nodal, just use the grid texture and for background put a light color in and forground use black. Then put the alpha into specularity and reflection.

mabaza
07-03-2006, 11:39 AM
gerry_g,

Thanks for the great tips. I am most inclined to use the PS solution at this time, however I'm unable to find a weave filter/preset in PS. Is this a 3rd part plugin?

nerdyguy227:
I don't have the LW 9 beta as I haven't upgraded yet. Thanks though:D

gerry_g
07-03-2006, 12:58 PM
Eye Candy 4000 by Alienskin (http://www.alienskin.com/) do a great weave filter for PShop, below is a link to a simple mesh with a weave I generated with the filter applied



MESH (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gerry_g12/miketest/)

nerdyguy227
07-04-2006, 11:24 PM
that looks like just what you need

T-Light
07-05-2006, 01:01 AM
I'd go with Gerry G's :)

This one's from last Christmas, it's made using the grid procedural in 8.5.
Don't knock it :D , I got the call late Friday, the firm in question needed two original Christmas / Promotional Cards for print by the Monday morning. This is one of them.

[EDIT]
This is weird, I can't post the image

There seems to have been a problem with the NewTek Discussions database.
Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.

That's all I'm getting :(

T-Light
07-05-2006, 01:15 AM
One more try, if it doesn't work I'll bang it up on the server.

OK, It's not accepting it. Apologies for the file size.

http://www.talkinglight.com/images/mic-closeup.jpg

mabaza
07-17-2006, 10:14 PM
Brent and Gerry G. Thanks much for the help and ideas. I have loads of avenues to explore now.

:thumbsup: