PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 3D 5.6



snickrep
06-01-2003, 08:06 AM
Should I place a bid for lightwave 5.6? It ends in about a hour. Or should I just look for a cheaper version of lightwave 3D 7 academic or maybe even lightwave 6? I hear LW 5.6 only works under Mac OS 9 and takes up alot of space on OS 9. Here are the specs for my mac:

imac G4 800Mhz PowerPC G4

256MB of Ram

60GB Hard drive

Geforce2 MX 32MB

What would work better under my system?

Lightwave 3D 5.6

Lightwave 3D 6

Lightwave 3D 7

Gabe
06-03-2003, 09:28 AM
Lightwave 5.6 would definately run better.... but.... You really should not get anything before Ligthwave 6 unless you plan to upgrade it. Lightwave was completely rewritten for version 6. All the current versions are based on that rewrite. It's far, far more advanced than 5.6 and below.

Karmacop
06-03-2003, 10:22 AM
Well you can upgrade from 5.6 to 7 right now for about US$400 and that'll come with a free upgrade to 8 wont it? Ofcourse if you get the educational version you can do the same thing. So it depends which one you can get cheaper .. and make sure the one you bid on is a legal copy ...