PDA

View Full Version : Shadows on the ground without the ground ?



julos
06-01-2003, 03:06 AM
I don't know if it's clear in the title, but how can you get a render with nice shadows but no background ?

Mylenium
06-01-2003, 05:19 AM
Just set the alpha channel to "shadow opacity" (Surface editor, advanced tab)

Mylenium

julos
06-01-2003, 06:41 AM
thanks, i'll give it a try :)

julos
06-01-2003, 07:03 AM
I turned on shadow density, but it's not working, i export a .psd , but the alpha channel only includes the character (it's just a character on a plane, i would like to get his shadows but not the plane).

any idea ? i forgot something ?

ursa
06-01-2003, 09:47 AM
you have to turn on shadow density for the object the shadow falls upon(your stand-in ground plane). It also helps to make the plane object black (or at least dark)
hth

ursa