PDA

View Full Version : Apple's shake noiw availabe for $500...



archiea
06-20-2006, 05:59 PM
http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2006/jun/20shake.html

http://www.apple.com/shake/
and its also in universal binary...


and now the Qmaster controls May rendering... ahem.. newtek... :newtek:

Noclar7
06-20-2006, 06:18 PM
wow, this is really sweet. Im in the transition phases now going from a windows station to a macbook pro so this news comes at a great time. I have not even used shake but Im aware of its power and I'm familiar with node based editing from Digital Fusion (thanks newtek). 80% off and universal binary.. how can i resist, atleast until adobe can release AE universal. anybody have any helpful links and/or comments on the workflow differences between AE and Shake? (besides the obvious node-based / layer-based workflow)

Thanks
RJ

Noclar7
06-21-2006, 10:35 AM
and........ the catch....

http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2006/06/20060619205409.shtml

mlinde
06-22-2006, 07:37 AM
and........ the catch....

http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2006/06/20060619205409.shtml
I guess my response to "the catch" is ... so what?

I read on various forums about people who still get good use out of Shake 2.5 on Windows, and if Apple is really working on a replacement due by 2008, that's not even 2 full years of just Shake 4.1. If you have a use for Shake, the capabilities of the software isn't going to change. I still use After Effects 5.5. How old is that? It's still effective too.

So the real issue shouldn't be that Shake 4.1 is the last release of the application as-is, but is Shake a tool that can improve your production pipeline? Specifically with the toolset in Shake, there are very few other applications that can handle 2k/4k plates as well as Shake, and none of those are available at $500, regardless of when their next upgrade is coming out (if ever).

Noclar7
06-22-2006, 01:12 PM
This is true, it still rocks. I guess my concern with the "catch" though is if there will be an upgrade path even if its not shake. ie (the new uber crazy final cut extreme) but considering were using final cut studio, I would imagine there will be an option somewhere in the future for this. just trying to look ahead is all. Anyhoo, order's going out tommorow so I'll let you know how it all works out.

sonofmickel
06-23-2006, 11:48 PM
mlinde-you should really upgrade to AE 6.5 Pro. It is a HUGE upgrade for AE. The text engine alone will come in super handy. DO IT!

dsol
06-25-2006, 12:36 PM
AE6.5 is indeed an excellent upgrade, but AE7 is awesomeness personified ;)

And to make this post relevant to everyone's favorite 3D app - the new support in AE7 for 32-bit per channel comps makes it "da bomb" for building HDR maps. I've only just started using HDR and have discovered since that it's not just cool for environment-based lighting. It's goshdarn cool for image maps too (at least the ones that affect lighting - specular, diffuse etc.).

AE7 has a really nice new interface as well that uses sliding panes and preset "workspaces" - something I hope the NT team pay serious attention to...