PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed - intel or AMD ?



Pavlov
06-19-2006, 12:00 PM
Hi all,
need a new machine for my small farm, LW render mainly.
Last time - several onths ago - i was suggested about AMD's dualcore instead of Intel's dualcore. Now i'd buy another AMD Dualcore 4600+ but i ask:

- is it still the best bang for the buck ?
- Are still AMD dualcore more powerful than Intel's ones ?
- Is there something on market's horizont i should take care of and wait ?

thanks,
Paolo

5had0w
06-19-2006, 12:05 PM
Well maybe you should wait for Intel Conroe..they're out this July ^^

Pavlov
06-19-2006, 04:19 PM
any comparison with current AMD ?

Paolo

nerdyguy227
06-19-2006, 04:58 PM
I am not posative about the line of processors that intel is supposed to realease, but rught now AMD is still best bang for buck, just make sure you go for the AM2 socket since that will be more expandable.

Main reasons amd is now better than intel

hypertransport- the two cores can talk to each other

on die memory controller- the processor knows the memory addresses giving a very big speed boost

cleared BUS traffic- because of the reasons above, there is more bandwith for the memory and video card to talk to the cpu and each other

heat- not that amd is super cool, but intel is known for having very very hot procs

AM2- now amd is compatible with DDR2 memory, even though before it they were still ahead of intel, its just faster now

Pavlov
06-19-2006, 05:03 PM
thanks for the infos, i think i'll go for another good AMD 4600 dc ;)
I'd like to replace all my machine s with these, more power in less space. Did someone try Dual dualcore processors ? it must be a rendering monster..

Paolo

Wickster
06-19-2006, 05:08 PM
I have a somewhat similar question:
What is the difference between the AMD Opteron 1##, 2## and 8## series?

I plan to build a personal workstation cause mine's a bit dated now. I wanted the dual core opterons (series #65 and up). Origianlly I was going to purchase the Opteron 270 but I came across the 170 and the 870. Is the 170 enough for a 3D system and spend the extra money on a good graphics card and ram?

thanks all.

nerdyguy227
06-19-2006, 05:08 PM
a little OT but you know its possible for up to 8 dual core procs in the same system (Tyan quad cpu board w/ expansion board)

Penforhire
06-19-2006, 05:09 PM
Wait until June 30th if at all possible. I believe that's the date Intel releases Conroe (which pre-release reviews say kicks @ss) and AMD is scheduled to drop prices on almost their entire line by something like 30% that same day!

I'm curious if AMD will gain share with that massive price drop or if Intel will pull ahead with the higher-performing Conroe processors.

Celshader
06-19-2006, 05:13 PM
I have a somewhat similar question:
What is the difference between the AMD Opteron 1##, 2## and 8## series?

All will run in single-socket motherboards. The 2## and 8## will both run fine as pairs in dual-socket motherboards (you can't run two 1## procs on the motherboard and expect it to work). Only the 8## will run in up to eight-socket motherboards (you can't run up to four 1## or 2## processors in a single four-socket motherboard).

More here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opteron#Models

nerdyguy227
06-19-2006, 05:15 PM
hehe this is cool we are all on at the same time

anyway, yea the new intel ones I'd say are worth waiting for to see if they outpreform amd. I think I heard that rummer of the 30% price drop... if its true then that will be incredible bang for buck.

You know if there is supposed to be the on die memory controller for the new intel series?

JCG
06-19-2006, 07:14 PM
The memory controller will still be on the northbridge but Intel says that's a good thing because, even though there's more latency between the CPU and the memory, the video cards and other cards can access the memory more directly and that they've increased the bandwidth and cache to minimise the impact. That's probably less true in a render node than in a workstation.

There's already a few benchmarks of the Conroe engineering samples at:
http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2771&p=4
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1976400,00.asp
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1970192,00.asp
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=185555
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/06/05/first_benchmarks_conroe_vs_fx-62/

Wickster
06-19-2006, 07:22 PM
All will run in single-socket motherboards. The 2## and 8## will both run fine as pairs in dual-socket motherboards (you can't run two 1## procs on the motherboard and expect it to work). Only the 8## will run in up to eight-socket motherboards (you can't run up to four 1## or 2## processors in a single four-socket motherboard).

More here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opteron#Models
Ack!!! you "Wikislapped" me! hehehe. :D

Thanks for the info celshader.

I think I'll just get an dual socket MB and one opteron 270 for now with an option to go dual later.

coremi
06-20-2006, 09:00 AM
or u can get one of this :)
http://www.tgdaily.com/2006/06/20/ibm_500ghz_chip/