PDA

View Full Version : QuickTime 7.1 and VT



nevmoor
06-17-2006, 08:00 PM
Has anyone tried this with VT yet??

I would do it but I dont have the time to restore my system if something goes wrong.
I do have everything Ghosted but dont feel like the hasle(sp?)

BTW, which version of QT lives in harmony w/VT? I am about to start encoding for podcasts and need a faster way to get to h264. Right now I record to NT25 but QT doesnt recognize the files as AVIs. So while I have been testing stuff, I was going from NT25>DVtype2>into QT 7.1 Pro on another computer>h264.
lots of steps. It would be cool if I could go straight to qt.mov then to h264.
Any advice???

nevmoor
06-17-2006, 08:48 PM
Never mind, I didnt read this post far enough
http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=42728&highlight=quicktime

Still no go with VT sound. I will install 7.1 and keep windoze sound separate

ScorpioProd
06-17-2006, 11:45 PM
Well... SpeedEDIT will work with QT 7.1, AFAIK...

If you want VT to work with it now, you'd need to go back to QT 6.x, which wouldn't support H.264.

Your current workflow is the only way I can see for you to do it now.

Darwin
07-03-2006, 08:46 PM
This seems to be the thread. Has anyone devised a reliable work flow to get nice looking QT video accompanied with clean audio out of the VT?

QTpro7 $29.95 gives much higher res webvideo per/kb than WMV. However QT seems to have a problem with DV type 1 and DV type 2 audio. Almost behaves as if the audio frames are out of order or being skipped when converted to QT. The QT video plays rock solid but audio sounds choppy.

Thanks

ScorpioProd
07-03-2006, 09:24 PM
What are you listening to the QT 7 audio thru?

As we said, VT can't play it correctly.

Darwin
07-04-2006, 10:23 AM
I'm using QT 7.1 to convert an DV file rendered from VT4. I've tried both type 1 and type 2. I'm just playing the converted file back using QT not via VT4.

I have several long training videos 30 to 90 minutes long to convert. WMV's were easy but QT files are the challenge of the holiday!

ScorpioProd
07-04-2006, 11:25 PM
Let me rephrase the question... What audio hardware were you playing the QT through? It will not sound correct if you play it through the VT audio hardware.

Darwin
07-05-2006, 04:06 PM
That splains everything Lucy! Yes, I found QT plays fine on any machine except our VTs. Thanks. RRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrrr.