PDA

View Full Version : What a difference a motherboard makes !!!



prospector
06-13-2006, 02:01 PM
Well after playing with mobo and STILL not being able to get it to find the VT card..I got another to replace.

Using the old for pellet gun target parctice.

BUT THIS NEW ONE ..................WOWZA !!!!!!


Now mind you I have a SATA Raptor array for Vid drives, so not quite as good as you guys with those scsi arrays but for me IT'S GREAT!!!


Old compy got reports from Auto Configure (from VT software)of 78 MB/s for 4 drive array, good enuf to run VT2.

Then upgraded to VT4 and got readings of 157 MB/s with the Abit IC7 mobo and 3GHz cpu 1 gig ram
boy was I happy !!! after reading all those threads of guys getting those numbers while I thought 78 was good.....

Then Upgraded to AMD64 X2 3800 and 2 gigs ram and the K8T890-A mobo from ECS, and problems started....no matter what, it would NOT recognise the VT card under any conditions. Ran LW 9 great but not the VT card.

back to my 3 ghz mobo and 157 MB/s.



BUT now with the A8N5X fron Asus which is a AMD 64 X2 and 2 gigs ram,
I can not only see my VT card AND run LW but Auto configure threw me for a loop.......my video drive is putting out 263 MB/s !!!!!!!

263 MB/s on a 4 sata raid array

does this seem right????????????
am I dreaming??????



Also I now have a 64 X2 3800, what should my settings for speed be in prefrences for you guys with the dual cpu and HD speed in those ranges???

Bobt
06-13-2006, 08:40 PM
>263 MB/s on a 4 sata raid array
10K Raptors and your shocked.. Por Que?
I am getting over 150MB/sec read with my 4 drive Seagate SATA array.

Bob

prospector
06-13-2006, 11:06 PM
>263 MB/s on a 4 sata raid array
10K Raptors and your shocked..

Actually..yes
maby stunned more like it

I've had these drives for over 2 years and just last week got over 78

tmon
06-14-2006, 02:13 AM
Alright, dagnabit, you guys are going to make me get that 4th SATA drive....I have "sustained throughput" envy now! Awesome numbers....congrats!

prospector
06-14-2006, 07:49 AM
yea, they are finally

when the raptors came out I got them and it seemed like averyone else was getting these numbers but they were using those 500 buck controller cards and using up to 8 drives, so I was thinking that these were doing thier best, (my ATA raids were doing 50 MB/s).

tmon
06-14-2006, 05:41 PM
are you guys using your onboard RAID controller? which chipset?

prospector
06-14-2006, 06:40 PM
yea, onboard...nvidia for me

Asus mobo listed above

Bobt
06-15-2006, 04:29 AM
Me I am using a multi port 64 bit SATA card and software striping.
(the 64 bit did it for me I am pretty sure)

Bob