PDA

View Full Version : newbie help needed

punisher2005
06-13-2006, 01:35 PM
I am trying to make a recycle type logo. Something with 3-4 curved arrows in a circle. These will be rotating around a central object, most likely a start of some sort.

I started by using 2 discs and drilling them so I know have a "donut" on layer 1. I am really new at all of this though, so I am have a brain fart in trying to figure out how to break it apart into 3-4 sections with an arrowhead on each.
Currently the "donut" is not extruded, but the end product arrows will have to be so that they are fully 3d.

Also, I'm curious what people think is a good beginner type book/movie/whatever to learn lightwave and 3d in general. Preferably something for a layman.

Skinner3D
06-13-2006, 01:56 PM
:D I think that you are doing it the hard way. Your best bet is to create one arrow and then use the radial array to copy it. If you have the program I would use Adobe Illustrator to create the symbol, and then save and import into Lightwave. I hope I am not going over your head. If you don't understand, repost and someone will break this down further. As for the tutorials I recommend the Inside Lightwave books, although the tutorials on the Lightwave website are also really good.

Welcome aboard:)

punisher2005
06-13-2006, 03:05 PM
OK, I tried it that way and it puts the arrows in a circle which is good, but I need the arrows to be curved along the radius. This just puts the straight arrows I made in a circle.

Penforhire
06-13-2006, 04:03 PM
Check out another current thread for book suggestions. Radial array works but so would Clone using 120 degree increments (pitch/heading choice depends on the window you use).