PDA

View Full Version : Subpatch Weights



GATOR
06-13-2006, 08:36 AM
I'm trying to figure out subpatch weights. I read the manual and followed the example, but it doesn't work for me. I've got a nice folding sheet done by creating a box with a few segments and then manipulating the points. Looks good, in subpatch mode it's perfect, but the rounded corners. i know I can freeze it and edit, or add more control points, but in previous 3D programs I would just increase the weights of the points in the corners. Simple enough, I create the weight maps with the selected points, and then try to use the weight tool or the set weight map input, and nothing happens. Viewing it in weight shade shows that the weight is applied, which might be fine for weight shading texture maps, but I want to change the geometry.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

DrTWT
06-13-2006, 10:17 AM
when you created the map, did you choose SubPatchWeight or create a new weight map? you need to do the former...

GATOR
06-13-2006, 10:36 AM
That did it, thanks.