PDA

View Full Version : Hexagon to Lightwave

angman
06-11-2006, 02:16 PM
Has anyone experimented with Normal Maps using Hexagon - I am speaking of the process for importing into Lightwave to animate and render.

I have a "cartoony" elephant that I modeled in Lightwave and I have exported to Hexagon to detail. I have never done a normal map before - in fact I have never truly mastered UV mapping so I may need some help.

This is a general question post, but as I am working on this I will either post results or ask for more detailed help - stay tuned.

How abbout it - anyone done it with Hexagon yet? (Instead of z-brush)

-Angier:2guns:

UnCommonGrafx
06-11-2006, 02:32 PM
I haven't. Why do you prefer the normal map route? I've avoided them, thus far.

Matters not. There is an RGB to Normal Node around that converts a hex displacement to normal map info and I have been using it to play. I would say, though, that you should give it a try and share your results so the rest of us will know. ;))

With Hex 2.1, with the texture being automatically flipped, trial and error are easy as pie. And if you get another freebie on the net that auto updates your maps, you can watch it all happen "real-time" as you save in Hex and LW deforms the model after the update. Everyone's mileage will vary. ;)

angman
06-11-2006, 04:38 PM
Thanks, I knew going ahead and asking early in the learning process would be a good idea - allready you have given me info that I did not even know to ask.

-Angier

T-Light
06-11-2006, 07:19 PM
Keep us posted :thumbsup:

Auger
06-11-2006, 08:07 PM
If you are using LW9 you might be able to follow Proton's video for importing ZBrush Normal Maps using the new Node system. It can be found here... ftp://ftp.newtek.com/pub/LightWave/LW9/zbrush-nodes-aps.mov

Let us know how it goes. I haven't tried it yet.

ColinCohen
06-12-2006, 05:17 AM